Skip to content

Welcome~!

November 25, 2011

Hellooooo, everyone! I figured it was about time I set up a Developer’s Blog for Origin. This way, I can write and write and write about things and not worry about posting screenshots or art or anything. xD

So, I guess I’ll intro things off, for those of you that are new:

Origin is an indie RPG I’ve been developing for the past year and a bit. Unfortunately, I don’t have much to show for it except for outdated screenshots and a million and a half word documents! I have been doing plenty of work on it lately, though, so I figured now was a good time to set up a development blog. I’m hoping that blogging will keep me on track a little!

It’s inspired by all the games I loved growing up (that is, Chrono Trigger, the Final Fantasy series, Golden Sun, etc), as well as games I’ve grown to love in recent years (Arc Rise Fantasia, being a pretty obvious inspiration for gameplay mechanics), and is meant to be a throwback to the SNES and PSX era JRPGs. It also combines modern elements found in today’s games to create (what I hope is) a fun and memorable gaming experience.

The story and characters are full of tropes and good ol’ RPG cliches, but also have a good helping of originality! For example, while the plot is definitely about saving the world and magic and all that good stuff, it also touches on issues such as sexuality, gender equality, identity, and morality, and how the characters deal with these sorts of things. I’d actually say the plot has more to do with these issues and the character interactions, and it’s set on a “saving the world” backdrop. xD These are all themes pretty near and dear to my heart, so I’m hoping that I’ll do them justice!

Origin features custom graphical work done mostly by myself (it’s a lot of work ;__;) as well as an original soundtrack composed by Sara Gerrad (or, as she’s also known, JestaAriadne). It will also feature a custom battle system scripted and developed by TDS and myself (but mostly TDS, hahaha). My friend PentagonBuddy is also helping out a little with graphics when she has the time, but she’s mostly busy with her own projects! She’s responsible for the battle scene interface graphics, though. They’re very nice! xD Basically, there’s a lot of customized STUFF~ going into this game, which means a lot of work from all involved. So, uhh… basically don’t expect a finished game too soon. xD

Welp, I’m tired as heck now, and chances are most people won’t see this blog post for awhile, sooo… I’m gonna cut this entry here. xD Expect me to start gushing everywhere about my characters and throwing art around soon. Also, I’ll probably start detailing battle mechanics soon… hahaha, I’ve been keeping them to myself for far too long. xD

Peace out, everyone~

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

